MCC Weighs In: Akash Deep's Root Dismissal Deemed Legal Amid No-Ball Debate

Tuesday - 08/07/2025 03:00
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the England-based governing body responsible for cricket laws, has confirmed that Akash Deep's delivery, which dismissed Joe Root in the second Anderson-Tendulkar Trophy Test, was legal.

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the guardian of cricket laws, has officially addressed the debate surrounding Akash Deep's delivery that led to Joe Root's dismissal during the second Anderson-Tendulkar Trophy Test. The ruling? The delivery was entirely legal.

Joe Root and Akash Deep in action
ENG vs IND: MCC settles debate, rules Akash Deep's delivery to Joe Root legal (AP Photo)

The incident ignited controversy when replays suggested that Akash Deep's back foot might have landed outside the return crease, which typically constitutes a no-ball.

The Key Highlights:

  • The MCC has confirmed that Akash Deep's delivery that dismissed Joe Root was legal.
  • Doubts arose from replays suggesting a potential no-ball due to foot placement.
  • The decision stands, solidifying India's victory in the Edgbaston Test.

Initial Doubts and Expert Opinions

Following Joe Root's dismissal, commentator Alison Mitchell pointed out that Akash Deep's back foot appeared to land outside the return crease by a noticeable margin. Former England batsman Jonathan Trott echoed this sentiment. However, then India's head coach, Ravi Shastri, confidently asserted that the delivery was fair. The on-field umpires and third umpire upheld the original decision.

MCC's Official Clarification

To dispel any lingering ambiguity, the MCC issued a formal statement.

"On Day four of India's Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no ball. While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law."

The MCC referenced Law 21.5.1, which governs the legality of a delivery concerning foot placement: "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery."

Decisive Factor: Point of Contact

The MCC emphasized the crucial detail: "MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot's position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball."

In Akash Deep's case, the MCC clarified: "Clearly, at the point Deep's foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently - that is not relevant to this Law. At the point of landing he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery."

Root's dismissal proved pivotal as England pursued a daunting 608-run target. His wicket marked England's score at 50 for 3 on Day 4. Eventually, they were bowled out for 271, resulting in India's dominant 336-run victory and a leveled series at 1-1.

Total notes of this article: 0 in 0 rating

Click on stars to rate this article

Newer articles

Older articles

You did not use the site, Click here to remain logged. Timeout: 60 second